30 Teams set for 48th Annual KIBIHT

in Other News, tournaments

110204 KIBIHT_RollUpBanner


The lineup of teams for one of Western Canada’s most storied bantam tournaments – the Kamloops International Bantam Ice Hockey Tournament, or KIBIHT, has been announced.

The 48th Annual KIBIHT will feature 30 teams in competition over the five day event, including 10 in the Tier 1 division and 20 in Tier 2.

The tourney gets underway December 30 and wraps up January 3.

A highlight of this year’s tournament is the addition of the Hungarian U16 National Team to the competition.

This is believed to be the first time a Hungarian youth hockey team has travelled to North America and continues a long standing KIBIHT tradition of welcoming bantam age teams from around the world to Kamloops.

Four USA teams are also competing, including Nebraska’s Fremont Flyers.

Here are the teams set for this year:

Tier 1:

Abbotsford Hawks, Airdrie Xtreme, Balgonie Prairie Storm, Chilliwack Jr. Bruins, Hungarian U16 National Team, Kamloops Jr. Blazers, Prince George Jr. Cougars, Semiahmoo Ravens, Spruce Grove PAC Saints, and Vancouver Thunderbirds.

Tier 2:

Calgary Canucks, Campbell River Tyees, Castlegar Rebels, Fremont (Nebraska) Flyers, Kamloops T2 Jr. Blazers, Kelowna T2 Jr. Rockets, Langley T2 Eagles, North Delta Sundevils, North Shore Winter Club T2, Penticton Jr. Vees, POE Varsity, Prince George T2 Jr. Cougars, Salmon Arm Silvertips, Seattle T2 Sno-kings, South Anchorage Moose, Spokane Jr. Chiefs, Vancouver T2 Thunderbirds, Vernon Jr. Vipers, Williams Lake Timberwolves, and Yellowknife Wolfpack.