BC Championships – Bantam Tier 1 Final – BWC downs NSWC

in Other News, playoffs


BWC Bantam A1 Bruins celebrate BC Championship win, March 17. Photo by Preston Emerson, GoTime Photography.
BWC Bantam A1 Bruins celebrate BC Championship win, March 17. Photo by Preston Emerson, GoTime Photography.



March 16, 2016

In the end, it was all BWC, as the Bantam A1 Bruins shut down NSWC Winterhawks 3-0 in the BC Provincial Championship Final on Wednesday night.

BWC opened a 1-0 lead about five minutes into the first on a rebound tucked in by Joshua O’Keefe, assisted by Ryan Denny.

North Shore mounted a concerted attack on a pair of back to back powerplay opportunities late in the period, but couldn’t beat goaltender Kaedan Lane – who stopped eight shots in the period. North Shore’s Jessie Makaj faced nine for the Hawks.


North Shore’s James Darby battles with BWC Captain Sasha Mutala. Photo by Preston Emerson, GoTime Photography.


North Shore started the second with a long power-play advantage on a four minute head contact penalty that came late in the first, but gave up a shorthanded marker, when Denney picked up a loose puck in the centre ice area, and broke in on a breakaway. Massimo Rizzo got the assist.

North Shore spent most of the rest of the period killing four minor penalties, while BWC went on the attack, eventually getting one more – though at even strength after North Shore’s second penalty expired – on a goal by Henrik Rybinski, who finished off nice passing play from Joshua Tsui and Sasha Mutala, with a shot in close.


North Shore’s Logan Doust and BWC’s Ryan Denney race for loose puck in championship game, March 17. Photo by Preston Emerson, GoTime Photography.


That would be it for the scoring, as the third closed out uneventfully, with both teams running on empty; North Shore managed just four shots on goal, BWC only five; for a game total of 23 for BWC, and 14 for NSWC.

The Bruins now moves on to play in the Western Canadian Bantam Championships held this year in Okotoks, Alberta, March 30-April 3. They’ll play host team Okotoks, as well as the Alberta Champion, Lethbridge Golden Hawks, along with the Saskatchewan and Manitoba Champions (tbd).

Lethbridge downed the Bruins 6-3 at the St. Albert John Reid Memorial in January, after the Bruins had opened a 2-0 lead in the first, then gave up five in the second, including four on power plays. No doubt, they’ll want to change that when they meet again.

Either the Sask Valley Diamond Centre Pharmacy Vipers or the Yorkton Terriers will represent Saskatchwan.

Manitoba champions will be either the Bandon Wheat Kings or the Winnipeg Monarchs. Their best of three starts Friday.


Rivals congratulate each other on a great season, as BWC moves on to the Western Championships. Big crowd was on hand at the Poirier Arena in Coquitlam.

Huge kudos to the Coquitlam Minor Hockey Association and the Chiefs, for stepping up and hosting at the Pourier – first class! And to all the other regional champions, Prince George, Nanaimo and Kamloops, who competed in the tournament.



Zachary Abenante #3

Elan Bar-Lev-Wise #14

Ryan Denney #8

Ryan Helliwell #17

Vincent Iorio # 44

Aiden Kosub  #47

Kyler Kovich #18

Kaeden Lane #31

Jake Loverock #11

Koen MacInnes #32

Sasha Mutala #83

Joshua O’Keefe #9

Masssimo Rizzo #88

Henrik Rybinski #74

Juliano Santalucia #7

Samuel Schofield #4

Alek Sukunda #55

Joshua Tsui #19


Coach: John Batchelor

Asst. Coach: Chris Thompson

Asst. Coach: Burt Henderson

Manager: Dan Melanson



Layton Ahac #12

Zachary Bolton #15

Jason Chu #8

Ben Croasdale #19

James Darby #3

Logan Doust #10

Nicholas Drapkin #14

Michael Harroch #30

Kent Johnson #13

Jake Keller #6

Jayden Lee #4

Ryan Maclean #16

Jesse Makaj #1

Cole Shepard #2

Jack Steffens #17

Garrett Valk #18

Connor Wetsch #9


Coach: Jim Dinwoodie

Asst. Coach: Joey Woodyard

Asst. Coach: Billy Coupland

Manager: Carolyn McLean

HSCP: Michael Lee

HSCP: Chad Wetsch


Recent BC Finals:

2015-2016 – BWC 3 – NSWC 0 (Westerns TBD)

2014-2015 – NSWC 6 – VRC 1 (Western Champions)

2013-2014 – NSWC 4 – BWC 2 (Western Champions)

2012-2013 – NSWC 4 – BWC 3 (Western Runners-up)

2011-2012 – BWC 6 – Cloverdale 5 (Western Champions)

2010-2011 – BWC 6 – Abbotsford 3 (Western Champions)


Final standings:

Bantam Tier 1

Lower Mainland – Coquitlam Hosting
Teams W L T Pts
Nanaimo 1 3 0 2
Prince George 2 3 0 4
Kamloops 2 3 0 4
Coquitlam 0 4 0 0
Burnaby Winter Club 6 0 0 12
North Shore Winter Club 4 2 0 8

Schedule and Scores:


G# Time Home GF Visitor GF
1 10:30AM NSWC 4 Coquitlam 1
2 1:30PM Kamloops 2 Prince George 6
3 4:30PM BWC 12 Nanaimo 0
4 8:00PM Prince George 8 Coquitlam 3


G# Time Home GF Visitor GF
5 8:00AM Nanaimo 2 NSWC 7
6 11:00AM Kamloops 0 BWC 7
7 5:00PM Prince George  1 NSWC  3
8 8:00PM Coquitlam  1 BWC  10


G# Time Home GF Visitor GF
9 8:00AM Kamloops  4 Nanaimo  3
10 2:00PM BWC  3 NSWC  2
11 5:00PM Nanaimo  12 Prince George  8
12 8:00PM Coquitlam  0 Kamloops  3


G# Time Home GF Visitor GF
13 8:00AM BWC  5 Prince George  2
14 11:00AM NSWC  5 Kamloops  0
15 2:00PM Coquitlam Nanaimo
16 8:00PM BWC  3 NSWC  0
Championship Game