BC WHL picks by bantam club

in Other News



A total of 50 BC players were selected in the 2016 edition of the annual WHL bantam draft, held in Calgary, May 5.

Winterclubs and hockey academies placed the great majority of players this year.

In the 2016 WHL Bantam Draft, 2001 born players were eligible to be selected. The WHL territory includes British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba, as well as Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.


Burnaby Winter Club, which won this year’s Western Canadian Bantam Championship, had a record nine players selected, including two first rounders and one, Isaac Alvarado, from the bantam A2 team.

BWC Bantams win 2016 Westerns



BWC 2016 Bantam captains
BWC captains celebrate Westerns win, left to right, Sasha Mutala, Elan Bar-Lev-Wise, Massimo Rizzo, and Juliano Santalucia.


R1 6 Tri-City Sasha Mutala RW BC BWC Vancouver
R1 15 Kamloops Massimo Rizzo C/LW BC BWC Burnaby
R2 34 Medicine Hat Henrik Rybinski F BC BWC Vancouver
R5 106 Moose Jaw Joshua O’Keefe LW BC BWC Burnaby
R6 122 Moose Jaw Alek Sukunda D BC BWC Burnaby
R6 132 Victoria Elan Bar-Lev-Wise C BC BWC Vancouver
R7 135 Saskatoon Ryan Denney F BC BWC Ridge Meadows
R7 144 Calgary Juliano Santalucia RD BC BWC Burnaby
R7 154 Victoria Isaac Alvarado LW BC BWC West Vancouver



Yale Hockey Academy placed ten BC players, including the first BC pick, Josh Williams. Yale finished first in the Bantam Prep division of the Canadian Sports School League, and won the championship title after downing Delta 4-3 in the semi, and OHA 4-1 in the final. Yale also won the prestigious John Reid Memorial Tournament in St. Albert, in their first appearance, again edging Delta Academy in the final.

In addition, Yale placed two non-BC players, Rhett Rhinehart (#13, Lloydminster, Prince Albert Raiders), and Harrison Blaisdell (#31, Regina, Vancouver Giants), for a total of 12.


1 5 Medicine Hat Josh Williams RW BC Yale HA Langley
1 16 Calgary Jackson Van de Leest LD BC Yale HA Kelowna
3 62 Seattle Alex Swetlikoff F BC Yale HA Kelowna
3 65 Moose Jaw Austin Herron RD BC Yale HA Abbotsford
5 99 Lethbridge Alex Cotton RD BC Yale HA Langley
8 160 Spokane Ethan Leyh F BC Yale HA Anmore
8 169 Kamloops Blake Wood G BC Yale HA Nanaimo
9 192 Calgary Alex Rolfe G BC Yale HA Langley
10 229 Portland Holden Kodak F BC Yale HA Cloverdale


Delta HA logo


Delta Hockey Academy also placed 10 BC players. Delta finished second in the regular season of the Canadian Sports School Hockey League, with a 17-7-1 record. They lost a thrilling 4-3 semi in the CSSHL finals, to eventual winner Yale.

In addition to the BC players, Delta also placed two US players, Lukas Svjekovsky (#36, Point Roberts, WA) and Nicholas Kent (#147, Ladera Ranch, CA).


1 19 Lethbridge Dylan Cozens F BC Delta HA Whitehorse
3 63 Medicine Hat Jalen Price F BC Delta HA Delta
3 64 Kelowna Roman Basran G BC Delta HA Delta
4 80 Edmonton Boston Bilous G BC Delta HA Langley
4 88 Victoria Tyus Gent C BC Delta HA Delta
5 98 Prince George Keegan Craik F BC Delta HA Brentwood Bay
6 113 Vancouver Aidan Barfoot F BC Delta HA Richmond
7 138 Medicine Hat Corson Hopwo C BC Delta HA Duncan
9 181 Edmonton Ben Wozney LD BC Delta HA Richmond
10 208 Prince George Butch Laroue LD BC Delta HA Semiahmoo




NSWC Logo 150


North Shore Winter Club placed seven in the draft. The Winterhawks finished second to BWC in the PCAHA regular season and were also runners up to the Bruins in the BC Championships.

North Shore won the previous three BC Championships, and the two previous Westerns.


2 23 Kootenay Jesse Makaj G BC NSWC North Vancouver
3 66 Seattle Layton Ahac LD BC NSWC North Vancouver
4 73 Portland Jason Chu RD BC NSWC Coquitlam
4 84 Kamloops Jimmy Darby RD BC NSWC North Vancouver
7 145 Prince George Zachary Bolton F BC NSWC North Vancouver
9 198 Saskatoon Logan Doust C BC NSWC North Vancouver
10 202 Kelowna Jayden Lee D BC NSWC North Vancouver


Players from three other hockey academies were selected:

2 29 Tri-City Mitchell Brown RD BC Okanagan Hockey Academy Salmon Arm
8 165 Regina Logan Nijhoff F BC Okanagan Hockey Academy Comox Valley
10 216 Seattle Cole Schwebius G BC Okanagan Hockey Academy Kelowna
10 219 Brandon Timber Lewis D BC Okanagan Hockey Academy Terrace


8 155 Kootenay Cody Shepheard RW BC Shawnigan Lake HA Qualicum Beach
1 17 Swift Current Jacson Alexander LD BC Shawnigan Lake HA Victoria
4 70 Kootenay Kabore Dunn D BC Shawnigan Lake HA Mill Bay


3 61 Swift Current Connor Horning RD BC Pursuit of Excellence Kelowna
4 71 Swift Current Nolan Corrado C BC Pursuit of Excellence Campbell River


Minor hockey association picks came from Campbell River Tyees, Fort St. John Flyers, Prince George Cougars, Kelowna Rockets and Kamloops Lions. The Tyees were the BC Hockey Tier 2 provincial champs. River Fahey scored a hat-trick in the 5-1 final over Vernon Vipers.

R4 74 Red Deer River Fahey F BC Campbell River Tyees MHA Campbell River
R9 191 Kamloops Matthew Ubriaco LD BC Campbell River Tyees MHA Campbell River
R7 133 Portland Connor Bowie F BC Fort St. John Flyers MHA Fort St. John
R9 196 Tri-City Xavier Cannon G BC Kamloops Lions MHA Kamloops
R5 94 Medicine Hat Kaleb McEachern G BC Kelowna Rockets MHA Penticton
R9 177 Kootenay Colton Kitchen LD BC Prince George Cougars MHA Prince George