Brandon Wheat Kings trim to 31

in Other News

Brandon Wheatkings logo


September 4, 2016

The Western Hockey League’s Brandon Wheat Kings reassigned twelve players Sunday night following their annual Intrasquad Game at Westman Communications Group Place.

Among them were 15-year old prospects Ben McCartney and Jonny Hooker, who were chosen in the second and eighth rounds respectively in last spring’s Western Hockey League Bantam Draft in Calgary.

Following is the list of the players reassigned Sunday night:

Ben McCartney                       Forward                     15
Jonny Hooker                          Forward                    15
Lynden McCallum                  Forward                    16
Rylan Hoffman                       Forward                     16
Codey Behun                          Forward                      16
Connor Timlick                       Defence                     17
Aiden Mucenski                      Defence                     17
James McIssac                         Forward                   17
Kolton Kanaski                       Forward                    17
Brayden Billaney                    Forward                    18
Ty Enns                                   Forward                     18
Josh Dechaine                         Goal                          18

In Sunday’s Intrasquad game, newly acquired Tyler Thompson scored twice including the game winner as Team White down Team Black 5-3.

Thompson’s second goal was the second of three scored by the Whites in a span of under three minutes that snapped a 2-2 tie.

Codey Behun, Connor Gutenberg and James Shearer also scored for the winners while Team Black goals came off the sticks of Daniel Bukac, Jaeger White and Ty Lewis.

Thompson was one of three players acquired by the Wheat Kings from Victoria earlier this week and was making his Brandon debut in Sunday’s game.

As a result of Sunday’s moves, the Wheat Kings have trimmed their pre-season roster to thirty-one players – three goalkeepers, ten defenceman and 18 forwards.

Of those, five players, including all star defenceman Ivan Provorov will be off to National Hockey League training camps this month.

A former first round draft choice of the Philadelphia Flyers, Provorov was chosen the Top Defenceman in the WHL in 2016.

Other Wheat Kings off to NHL Camps include Kale Clague and Tanner Kaspick, who were chosen by Los Angeles and St. Louis respectively in last June’s NHL Draft, as well as Reid Duke and Tyler Coulter.

While Duke is attending the New York Rangers’ camp, Coulter will soon be off to the Vancouver Canucks.

Following is the list of thirty-two players on the Wheat Kings’ pre-season roster:

Goal:  (3)     veterans in bold print

Jordan Papirny, Logan Thompson and Hunter Arps

Defence:  (10)

Ivan Provorov, Schael Higson, Kale Clague, Jordan Warrie, James Shearer, Garrett Sambrook, Daniel Bukac, Blake Jameson, Ty Ettinger and 15-year old Braden Schneider

Forwards:  (18)

Stelio Mattheos, Ty Lewis, Tyler Coulter, Jaeger White, Linden McCorrister, Reid Duke, Duncan Campbell, Connor Gutenberg, Tanner Kaspick, Tyler Thompson, Nolan Patrick, Garrett Armour, Caiden Daley, Tak Anholt, Cole Reinhardt, Baron Thompson, Rylan Bettens and Marcus Sekundiak.

 The Wheat Kings will kick off their 5-game pre-season schedule this Friday night at Westman Place against the visiting Moose Jaw Warriors.

Tickets to both of Brandon’s exhibition games as well as its 2016 Home Opener will go on sale Tuesday, September 6that 9 a.m. at the Keystone Centre box office.