BWC win Pat Quinn Classic Bantam Elite title

in tournaments



December 31, 2017


The top flight of the Pat Quinn Classic wrapped up Saturday at Bill Copeland Arena with the Burnaby Winter Club Bantam Prep winning the Bantam Elite Championship over Yale Academy in a 2-1 OT thriller.

The game featured the top offensive team in the tournament – Yale – vs the the top defensive team – BWC.

Yale came into the game as the top seeded team in the tournament, with a 6-0-0 record, posting 42 GF vs 11 GA.

BWC were the second seed, at 5-0-1, after opening with a 3-3 tie vs Delta Green, and had posted 25 GF vs 11 GA. BWC had won two games by a single goal, 4-3 vs Rocky Mountain, and 4-3 vs OHA.

Yale on the other hand, had won every game by a minimum of four goals.

In the championship game, the teams battled through a scoreless first period, and it wasn’t until late in the second that BWC’s Keenan Fink scored (from Eshan Barha) to give BWC a 1-0 lead going into the final period.

Yale’s Graham Sward evened it up at the 7:08 mark (from Jake Chiasson) but neither team could beat the tenders, and the game went to OT.

It was a very short OT.

Brandon Liskowsky picked up a loose puck and scored from the top of the slot just 35 seconds into extra time, to give BWC the championship title. Elias Carmicheal got the assist.

Both goalies were excellent throughout. BWC’s Tomas Milic was awarded goaltender of the tournament for the Bantam Elite division after the game.




In the Bronze medal game, Pacific Coast Hockey Academy from Vancouver Island, downed Delta Hockey Academy White, 4-2.

Delta White had advanced on a 3-2 OT win vs Delta Green in the quarterfinals, and were downed 6-2 by Yale in the semis.

BWC had advanced with a 4-3 decision over OHA in the quarterfinals, and a 5-2 win over Pacific Coast in the semis.

The tournament is hosted by Burnaby Minor Hockey, and is now in its third year as Pat Quinn Classic.


The BWC Bantam Prep team is in its first year with the Canadian Sports School Hockey League, and has proven that it is very capable of carrying on the tradition of top tier Bantam A1 hockey at BWC.

Seven of the eight quarterfinalists at the tournament this year were BC CSSHL teams – the Rocky Mountain Roughriders from Colorado, were the exception.

Seafair Islanders were the lone PCAHA team in the top tier this year, finishing 10th overall.

The BWC Bantam Prep are lead by Head Coach Leland Mack and Associate Coach Jordie Armond-Jones, who were previously at the helm of the BWC Elite 15 program, from 2013 through last season.


BWC Bantam Prep Tournament Results, First Place, 6-0-1, 27 GF – 12 GA

 Game Home GF Away GF WLT Pts
RR BWC HA Prep 3 Delta HA Green 3 T 1
RR RM Roughriders 3 BWC HA Prep 4 W 2
RR BWC HA Prep 5 Shawnigan HA Prep 0 W 2
RR BWC HA Prep 4 Delta HA White 0 W 2
QF BWC HA Prep 4 OK HA Prep 3 W 2
SF BWC HA Prep 5 Pacific Coast 2 W 2
Gold Yale 1 BWC HA Prep 2 W 2



BWC Bantam Prep Roster 

#5 Cale Strasky D
#8 Chase Sandhu F
#11 Matthew Seminoff F
#12 Matthew Campbell D
#13 Rocco La Cara F
#15 Elias Carmichael D
#17 Maxim Borovinskiy F
#20 William Dudley F
#21 Finlay Williams F
#23 Marcus Taylor D
#26 Brandon Lisowsky F
#29 Ronin Geraghty G
#29 Mason Dunsford G
#32 Thomas Milic G
#47 Keean Fisk F
#64 Nicco Camazolla D
#67 Tyler Schweizter F
#76 Eshan Barha D
#88 Adam Grenier F
#91 Caedan Bankier F



Bantam Elite Tournament Awards:

MVP – Trevor Wong (St. George’s)

Top Scorer – Kobe Verbicky (Yale Academy) & Logan Stankoven (Yale Academy)
Top Defenseman – Graham Sward (Yale Academy)
Top Goalie – Thomas Milic (BWC Academy)