Five BC Players invited to U18 Camp

in Other News


Five (5) BC players have been invited to attend Hockey Canada’s Under 18 Selection Camp.  Players chosen from this camp will be a part of the 2013-2014 National Men’s U18 Team that will compete at the 2013 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament that will be held in Slovakia in August 2013.

The BC players chosen are:

Payton Lee (Cranbrook)
Joe Hicketts (Kamloops)
Dysin Mayo (Victoria)
Ryan Gropp (Kamloops)
Jake Virtanen (Abbotsford)

Canada’s National Men’s Summer U18 Team Selection Camp Roster

“These players are the cream of the crop of under 18 talent in Canada, and it’s going to be exciting to see them battle for 22 roster spots,” said head scout for the men’s Program of Excellence Ryan Jankowski.  “As it is every year, there were some tough decisions to get down to 42, and they will be even tougher decisions to finalize the roster.”

The camp roster includes 15 players from the Ontario Hockey League, 15 from the Western Hockey League and nine (9) from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.  In total, 39 players competed at the 2012 World Under 17 Hockey Challenge and two (2) players helped Canada’s National Men’s Under 18 Team win a gold medal as under-agers at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship in Sochi, Russia.

Of the 42 players who have been invited to the selection camp, 22 will selected for Canada’s National Men’s Summer U18 Team, which will in the 2013 Ivan Hlinka tournament, scheduled for August 5-10, 2013 in Piestany, Slovakia and Breclav, Czech Republic, a tournament Canada has won for the past five (5) consecutive years.

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team, please, and follow along through social media at, and

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at or email [email protected].