Ivy League recognizes 36 BCHL grads as top achievers

in Other News



ECAC Hockey, the NCAA Div. I conference that includes the Ivy League schools, has recognized its top-achieving student athletes from 2014-15 and 36 former BCHL players made the grade.

In order to earn all-academic status, these student-athletes had to achieve a grade-point-average of at least 3.00 on a scale of 4.00 over the previous three semesters.

One student was selected from each school as a Commissioner’s List member as the top scholar from that school.

Two BCHL alumni received the Commission’s List honors: James Kruger (Minnetoka, MN, Langley Rivermen) a 3-time all academic winner; and Kyle Kramer (Qualicum, BC, Nanaimo Clippers), a 2-time winner.

Two alumni were chosen all-academic for the fourth time: Charlie Vasaturo (Sewell, NJ, Salmon Arm Silverbacks) and Massimo Lamacchia (Vaughan, ON, Coquitlam Express).

Seven others, besides Kruger, were named for the third time.

15 Americans, 9 BC, 8 Ontario, 3 Alberta, 1 Quebec.

Quinnipiac leads with 8 awards, followed by Brown with 6.
The following is the complete list of the BCHL grads, sorted by school and including their age, date of birth, home town, and former BCHL team.

Brown – 6
Josh McArdle (21, 1994-05-08, Roscoe, IL, Nanaimo Clippers)
Braeden Russell (22, 1993-02-10, Oakville, ON, Surrey Eagles)
Ben Tegtmeyer (21, 1994-04-29, Minneapolis, MN, West Kelowna Warriors)
Kyle Kramer (23, 1992-04-15, Qualicum, BC, Nanaimo Clippers) *2-time winner **Commissioner’s List
Massimo Lamacchia (24, 1991-03-23, Vaughan, ON, Coquitlam Express) *4-time winner
Zack Pryzbek (21, 1994-04-24, St. Catherines, ON, Coquitlam Express)

Clarkson – 2
James de Haas (21, 1994-05-03, Mississauga, ON, Penticton Vees, Detroit Red Wings draft pick)
Bryan Sinz (23, 1992-08-18, Anchorage, AK, Penticton Vees) *2-time winner

Cornell – 2
Joel Lowry (23, Joel Lowry, Calgary, AB, Victoria Grizzlies) *3-time winner (Los Angeles Kings draft pick)
Reece Willcox (21, 1994-03-20, Surrey, BC, Merritt Centennials) *3-time winner (Philadelphia Flyers draft pick)

Dartmouth – 3
Carl Hesler (21, 1994-06-17, Dallas, TX, West Kelowna Warriors)
Connor Dempsey (22, 1992-10-03, Winthrop, MA, West Kelowna Warriors) *3-time winner
James Kruger (23, 1992-01-06, Minnetoka, MN, Langley Rivermen) *3-time winner **Commissioner’s List

Harvard – 4
Brayden Jaw (23, 1992-04-24, Vancouver, BC, Surrey/Nanaimo) *2-time winner
Luke Esposito (23, 1993-10-18, Greenwich, CT, Chilliwack Chiefs) *2-time winner 
Alex Kerfoot (21, 1994-08-11, West Vancouver, BC, Coquitlam Express) *2-time winner (New Jersey Devils draft pick)
Phil Zielonka (22, 1993-01-28, Montreal, QC, Coquitlam/Chilliwack)

Princeton – 3
Marlon Sabo (21, 1994-02-24, Surrey, BC, Alberni Valley Bulldogs)
Max Becker (20, 1995-07-07, Orange County, CA, Salmon Arm Silverbacks)
Tom Kroshus (23,, 1992-01-01, Calgary, AB, West Kelowna Warriors) *3-time winner

Quinnipiac – 8
Michael Garteig (23, 1991-11-05, Prince George, BC, Powell River/Penticton) *3-time winner
Canon Pieper (21, 1993-12-15, Roseville, MN, Coquitlam Express)
Nathan Renouf (21, 1994-03-11, Mississauga, ON, Surrey Eagles)
Brayden Sherbinin (22, 1993-03-07, Kelowna, BC, West Kelowna/Salmon Arm) *2-time winner
Travis St. Denis (22, 1993-09-09, Trail, BC, Trail/Penticton) *3-time winner
Devon Toews (21, 1994-02-21, Abbotsford, BC, Surrey Eagles) *2-time winner (New York Islanders draft pick)
Bo Pieper (20, 1994-12-17, Roseville, MN, Coquitlam Express)
Jonah Renouf (21, 1994-03-11, Mississauga, ON, Surrey Eagles)

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) – 1
Jared Wilson (20, 1994-08-27, Calgary, AB, Alberni Valley/Vernon)

St. Lawrence – 2
Mitch Eden (20, 1994-11-09, Bracebridge, ON, Prince George Spruce Kings)
Sean McGovern (21, 1993-09-29, Milton, ON, Surrey Eagles) *2-time winner

Union – 3
Noah Henry (21, 1994-03-04, Medina, WA, Penticton/Powell River) *2-time winner
Charlie Vasaturo (24, 1990-12-07, Sewell, NJ, Salmon Arm Silverbacks) *4-time winner
Ryan Scarfo (21, 1994-03-03, North Chelmsford, MA, Powell River Kings)

Yale – 2
Charles Orzetti (23, 1992-02-02, Ridge Wood, NJ, Surrey Eagles) *3-time winner
Dan O’Keefe (21, 1994-03-06, Wall, NJ, Surrey Eagles) *2-time winner