Last Hurrah for NSWC Bantam champs

in Other News

NSWC Bantam A1 2014 last hurrah


June 8, 2014

The North Shore Winter Club Bantam A1 team gathered one last time yesterday to celebrate an exceptional season of accomplishments, culminating with the hoisting of the Western Canadian Championship banner at the NSWC, now embroidered with their names.

The team were also awarded their Championship rings.


NSWC Bantam Champ ring 2014



The team won the Western final 4-3 in double overtime vs the Alberta Champion, Lloydminster Heat.

They defeated the Burnaby Winter Club 4-2 in the Provincials, coming from behind with three goals in the third, to advance to the Westerns.

Seven players from the team were drafted into the WHL, three more were selected to the BC U16 team working group. Click here for full details.

BC has now won three of the last four Western Championships.

The team’s three 2000 birth year players, Kabir Gill, Jackson Leppard, and Jack Shepard, are the only players remaining from the 2013-14 team who are still eligible for the 2014-2015 season.

The rest of the players will moving on to Major Midget, E15, U18 academy and Midget programs throughout the province; and will likely be playing against one another the next time they meet on the ice.


The 2013-2014 team:


Dorrin Ludding – 1999

David Tendick – 1999


Kabir Gill – 2000

Nolan Kneen – 1999

Patrick Keon – 1999

Mackenzie Grey – 1999

Conner McDonald – 1999

Sami Pharoan – 1999


Justin Almeida – 1999

Brett Stapley – 1999

Jackson Leppard – 2000

Angus Crookshank – 1999

Jordan Vann – 1999

Jack Shepard – 2000

Jordan Bellerive – 1999

Evan Walls – 1999

Tanner Versluis – 1999

Eathan de Jong – 1999


Head Coach: Jim Dinwoodie

Assistant Coaches: Mitch Pinsky, Kevin Pederson, Graham Acres