NSWC 2014-2015 Coaches Announced

in Other News

NSWC Logo 150



The North Shore Winter Club has released the names of the coaches who will be leading the majority of the Club’s hockey teams this year.

Notable is the movement of Billy Coupland from Peewee A1 to Atom A1 and the absence of Don Jamieson at Bantam A3. Cam Paddock, who coached Atom A2 last season, will be moving into the Peewee A1 slot. Matt Leadbetter, who coached the BA4 last year, will be leading the BA3 team this year. The club will not be icing a BA4 team this year.

Rob Dolter who coached the Peewee A2 team last year, is also not returning. Steve Bratt will be at the helm; he was Langley Bantam A1 assistant coach last season.

Clint Thornton, who is head coach of the North West Giants Major Midget team, and recently appointed Manager of Hockey Operations at NSWC, will coach the Atom A2 team.

Kelvin Cech,  assistant coach with the NW Giants, will coach the Peewee A3 team. Cech coached the Atom A1 team last season.

At Bantam A1, no changes. The team, which won the Westerns last season, and were runners up the previous season, will be lead by head coach Jim Dinwoodie and assistants Mitch Pinsky and Kevin Pederson. Dinwoodie and Pinsky are also heading up BC U16 team this year.

Pederson will also be assistant coach of the Peewee A1 team.

Neil Steveson-Moore will be returning as head coach of the Bantam A2 team for the third year, having previously coached the NSWC Peewee A2 team for two years.

Duncan Vyner is also returning as head coach of the Midget A1 team, along with assistant coach Mike Gauthier. Both coaches previously ran the Midget A2 team. This year’s Midget A2 coach has not yet been announced.

The coaches at the associated levels are as follows:

Male Teams:

Atom A1 – Billy Coupland(HC)
Atom A2 – Clint Thornton(HC), Joe Beaupre(AC)
Atom A3 – Stan Sibert(HC)
PeeWee A1 – Cam Paddock(HC), Kevin Pedersen(AC), Steve Sankey(AC)
PeeWee A2 – Steve Bratt(HC)
PeeWee A3 – Kelvin Cech(HC)
Pee Wee A4 – Chris Cusano(HC) 
Bantam A1 – Jim Dinwoodie(HC), Mitch Pinsky(AC), Kevin Pedersen(AC)
Bantam A2 – Neil Stevenson-Moore(HC), Mark Jackson(AC)
Bantam A3 – Matt Leadbetter(HC), Kyle Knapik(AC)
Midget A1 – Duncan Vyner(HC), Mike Gauthier(AC)

Female Teams:

Novice – Graham Moore, Stephen Codrington, Elisa Pharaon
Atom – Jason Calla, Danny Mould, Nicole Hufsmith
Pee Wee Rep – Jackie Sollis, Brian Lee
Midget Rep – Wade Bartok, John Cox, Jeff Oldenborger
Juvenile – TBD