NSWC Midget A1 Close out season with banner pic

in Other News

NSWC Midget A1 League Champs 2013-14


March 9, 2014

It was a great ride while it lasted.

The North Shore Winter Club Midget A1s battled the odds, and a long history of lackluster league play, to capture the top spot in regular season PCAHA Midget A1 league play, with a record of 13-3-2, one win better than second place Coquitlam and third place Seafair. It was the first NSWC Midget banner win since the 1987-88 season.

As Lady Luck would have it, the team drew a tough draw vs Hollyburn in the playoffs, and fell to the Huskies in the 4 point series, winning the first game 3-1 and then losing 3-0 and 3-1 to end the dream of a trip to the Final 4 and on to the Provincials.

Hollyburn, who played all season in Flight 2, would go on to advance as the second team to get through the PCAHA Final 4, on 2-2 ties against #7 North Van (5-10-3), and #10 Semiahmoo (5-8-5), before posting a 4-3 win against Coquitlam.

In keeping with the theme of upsets, Semiahmoo would be the other team to advance, notching a 5-3 win over Coquitlam and a 5-4 win over North Van to post the best Final 4 record of 2-1-0.

A final irony is North Shore home town rivals from North Van Minor are still playing, as hosts of the Provincials this year.

The Winterhawks posted an overall record of 29-17-3-1OTL, including strong tournament results in Vernon, at the Richmond Christmas tournament and at a New Year tourney in Cowichan Valley.

The team was made up of an unusual mix of 10 third years, 3 second years, 4 first years and one bantam age player (goaltender Cole Demers).

Many of the first years had played together since Cookie Monsters at NSWC and will take some great memories with them from their final season in minor hockey.

2013-2014 Roster:


Brett Andrews (F-D)

Christian Cullen (F)

Jonathan Donohoe (G)

Gavin Dunster (D)

Christian Gacina (D)

Justin Pouliot (D)

Shane Terrillon (F & C)

Wyatt Versluis (D)

Troy Williams (F)

Trevor Wilson (F)


Mitchell Bertram (F)

Andre Margo (D)

Spencer McLeod (F)


Desi Burgart (F)

James McIntosh (D)

Alex Uryga (F)

Justin Wilson (F)


Cole Demers (G)


Duncan Vyner (HC), Mike Gauthier, Sean Daoust, Jarrett Hearn.


Brad Burghart.


Kevin McLeod.


David Demers.

Time & Score Keepers:

Jim Wilson, Rob Williams, Jeff Donohoe

Team Link:

Ron Bertram.