PCAHA Bantam Tier 1 Playoff Format

in Other News, playoffs

PCAHA logo





Jan. 25, 2014

Eighteen A1-T1 teams are eligible for PCAHA playoffs this year. Eleven teams are currently in Flight 1, five in Flight 2 and one each in Flight 3 and 4.

Two teams will advance from the Final 4 fourth round, to represent the PCAHA at the Provincials this year hosted in Prince George.


PCAHA teams are placed in regular season Flights based on their competitive ranking after eight preseason games. This placement is reviewed at the Christmas break and teams moved up or down for the stretch run of eight games if necessary. BWC A2 were moved up this year, but will move to Tier 2 playoffs at the end of regular season.

PCAHA placement into various Flights is based soley on league competition, regardless of a team’s Provincial Tier rank which is determined by BC Hockey, the provincial body which oversees all BC Minor Hockey Association Leagues. BC Hockey’s Tier ranking is based primarily on the size of an individual MHA.

For example, large associations such as Surrey, North Vancouver, Van TBirds, Abbotsford are automatically placed in Tier 1 for provincials. Their second teams in Tier 2, third teams in Tier 3 and so on. Whereas a smaller associations such as Port Moody and Mission, with a smaller pool of player to draw from, are automatically placed in a lower Tier for Provincial Playoff competition.

The idea is to create parity between teams from various sized communities.

The Winter Clubs are automatically placed in Tier 1.

After the regular season ends, PCAHA teams are reseeded for provincial playoffs, based on their Tier rank as determined by BC Hockey.

Teams are ranked on basis of final standings, with Flight 1 teams ranked ahead of Flight 2 teams, Flight 2 teams ranked ahead of Flight 3 teams and so on.

PCAHA teams eligible for Tier 1 2013-14 Provincials:

Flight 1 (11) Abbotsford MHA “A1”, Burnaby Winter Club MHA “A1”, Coquitlam MHA “A1”, Hollyburn CC MHA “A1”, Langley MHA “A1”, North Shore WC MHA “A1”, Richmond MHA “A1”, Seafair MHA “A1”, Semiahmoo MHA “A1”, Surrey MHA “A1”, Vancouver Thunderbird MHA “A1”

Flight 2 (5) Burnaby MHA “A1”, Chilliwack MHA “A1”, Cloverdale MHA “A1”, Ridge Meadows MHA “A1”, South Delta MHA “A1”,

Flight 3 (1) North Vancouver MHA “A1”,

Flight 4 (1) Port Coquitlam MHA “A1”,


Playoff Format for PCAHA Bantam Tier 1, 2013-14 Season:

Teams 1-14 are given a bye in the first round. Teams 15 and 18, and 16 and 17 play a single elimination game, to be completed by Feb 6.

In round two, the 14 bye teams and 2 first round winners play another single game elimination round, with 1st ranked team playing 16th ranked team, 2nd vs 15th, and so on. This round to be completed by Feb 13.

Round three is a four point series, with the eight teams emerging from round two playing off , 1 vs 8, 2 vs 7, etc. First team to win 4 points advances. There are no sportsmanship points allocated for playoff games. This round to be completed by Feb. 27.

Round four is the Championship Final 4 Series, a single round robin competition featuring the four third round winners. To be completed by March 4.

Two top teams advance the BC Hockey Bantam Tier 1 Championships, March 17-24 hosted by Prince George MHA.