PCAHA Bantam F4s: BWC A1 shock NSWC, Vancouver Spirit win T2, Squamish T3, Whistler T4

in playoffs

PCAHA logo


Tier 1 – Hosted by BWC – BWC A1 Wins

#1 NSWC, #2 BWC, #3 Richmond, #4 Vancouver T-Birds.

It was an exciting finale and upset 3-2 BWC win at the Tier 1 Bantam PCAHA Final 4 Monday night. Host Burnaby Winter Club came is as the definite underdogs vs the North Shore Winter Club, having lost to the Winterhawks in their previous three outings.

But the Bruins showed they were not the same team as they were earlier in the season, jumping out to an early 1-0 lead with a quick puck movement game that seemed to catch the Winterhawks off guard. Baxter Anderson got the opener.

The Bruins made it 2-0 early in the second on a goal by Sasha Mutala, but the Hawks answered quickly on a goal by Luka Burzan. However North Shore couldn’t get the equalizer and BWC continued to press, and took a 3-1 lead into the third on a late goal by Aiden Kosub. BWC lead on the shot clock 21-14.

Tyler Ho then scored early in the third to give the Hawks new life, at 3-2. But BWC continued their up-tempo game and NS were not able to get the equalizer.

With the win BWC capture the PCAHA banner, and bragging rights as the #1 Lower Mainland seed going into the Provincials in Kelowna, where both teams will be considered favorites to reach the gold medal game.

In last year’s Provincials, NSWC downed BWC 2-1 in the round robin, and 4-2 in the final. In 2012-2013, BWC downed NSWC 4-3 in the round robin, and then lost 4-3 in the final.

In the other final round robin game, Vancouver T-Birds finished strong, with a 6-1 win over Richmond to finish 1-1-0. Richmond were 0-0-3.



Tier 1
Van T-birds BA1-T1  2 NSWC BA1-T1  4 2/27 BWC 18:00
BWC BA1-T1  3 Richmond BA1-T1  0 2/27 BWC 20:15
BWC BA1-T1  2 Van T-birds BA1-T1  2 2/28 BWC 15:15
NSWC BA1-T1  5 Richmond BA1-T1  3 2/28 BWC 17:30
Richmond BA1-T1  1 Van T-birds BA1-T1 6 3/1 BWC 9:45
NSWC BA1-T1  2 BWC BA1-T1  3 3/2 BWC 20:30


Tier 2- Hosted by NSWC – Vancouver Spirit A1 Wins

#1 NSWC A2, #2 Port Moody A1, #3 Vancouver A1, #4 Vancouver T-Birds

The Host #1 NSWC A2s and #2 Port Moody A1s played off in the final game of the Tier 2 Final 4 Sunday, with the winner securing a trip to the Provincials in Cranbrook as the second seed from the Lower Mainland.

Vancouver Spirit had already secured their spot, plus the PCAHA League Final 4 banner, the day before with a 3-2 late game win over Winterhawks. They had downed Port Moody 5-3 in game one.

Port Moody then downed the T-Birds 5-0 in their second game, to eliminate the T-birds from a provincial berth.

That set up a mean-nothing game between the two Vancouver teams Sunday morning, which saw the T-birds jump out to a 4-0 lead before Spirit clawed their way back to a 4-3 loss.

In the final game of the series, North Shore got off to a quick start on an unassisted shorthanded goal by Jack McIntosh just over two minutes in. Port Moody then got two, on an even strength goal from Zach Dalzanna and a power play goal from Eathan Leyh to take a 2-1 lead into the second. The Winterhawks were assessed 10 minutes in penalties in the period, Port Moody six.

North Shore then evened the score early in the second on a goal from Kyle Jennings, and then added three more, on singles from Lief Jungaro and d-man Caleb Magee and a second goal by Jennings. Cole Moberg assisted on three of the goals, Zach Bolton on two, to close out the period 5-2.

Port Moody would score once more with about six minutes left in the third, to end the game 5-3.

Winterhawks Michael Harroch got the win, on 17 stops; Liam Marshall stopped 24 in the loss.

Final penalty tally was 24 minutes for North Shore, 14 for Port Moody.

North Shore and Vancouver Spirit will both head to Cranbrook for Provincials.

Other teams this year: Cranbrook (host), Trail, Vanderhoof, Fort St. John, West Kelowna, Campbell River and Prince George.

Last year, Penticton went 5-0 to take the championship, downing NSWC A2 4-1 in the final. North Shore had upset host Lower Mainland #1 Mission 5-3 to advance to the gold medal game.

Abbotsford were also in last year, and posted a 1-2-1 record.

2015 Final 4 Results:

Tier 2
Van T-birds BA2-T2  1 NSWC BA2-T2  2 2/27 NSWC 18:15
Port Moody BA1-T2  3 Vancouver BA1-T2  5 2/27 NSWC 20:30
Port Moody BA1-T2  5 Van T-birds BA2-T2  0 2/28 NSWC 17:15
NSWC BA2-T2  2 Vancouver BA1-T2  3 2/28 NSWC 19:30
Vancouver BA1-T2  3 Van T-birds BA2-T2  4 3/1 NSWC 9:45
NSWC BA2-T2  5 Port Moody BA1-T2  3 3/1 NSWC 12:00


Tier 3 – Hosted by Squamish – Squamish A1 Wins

#1 Langley A3, #2 Squamish A1, #3 Semiahmoo A3, #4 NSWC A3

Host team Squamish A1 went 3-0-0 to take the Tier 3 PCAHA banner, outscoring the opposition A3 teams 21-6 over the weekend.

The team finished with a 6-3 win over #1 seed Langley A3s in the final game to seal the banner.

Semiahmoo A3 finished second with a 2-0-1 record, and will advance to the Provincials along with Squamish.

Langley A3 finished 1-0-2 and NSWC A3s finished 0-0-3 but gave both Semi and Langley good games.

The 2015 Provincials are being hosted by Tri-Port (Port Alice, Port Hardy, Port McNeil) on the North Island.

In last year’s provincials, Dawson Creek upset Terrace (5-1-0) and then defeated Quesnel 2-0 in the final. Sunshine Coast (2-3-1) and Arbutus Club (1-2-1) represented the Lower Mainland.

2015 Final 4 Results:

Tier 3
NSWC BA3-T3  0 Langley BA3-T3  3 2/28 Brennan Park 16:45
Squamish BA1-T3  4 Semiahmoo BA3-T3  1 2/28 Brennan Park 18:30
Squamish BA1-T3  11 NSWC BA3-T3  2 3-1 Brennan Park 14:30
Langley BA3-T3  6 Semiahmoo BA3-T3  8 3-1 Brennan Park 16:15
Semiahmoo BA3-T3  8 NSWC BA3-T3  6 3-1 Brennan Park 19:15
Langley BA3-T3  3 Squamish BA1-T3  6 3-1 Brennan Park 21:00


Tier 4 – Hosted by Maple Ridge – Whistler A1 win

#1 Whistler, #2 Langley, #3 Ridge Meadows, #4 North Vancouver

Whistler A1s dominated 26-5 over three games to win the Tier 4 banner. They downed Langley A4s, 5-1 in the final. Langley finished 2-1-1.

In Tier 4, only one Lower Mainland team advances the provincials, held this year in North West Fraser Lake (between Prince George and Smithers on Hwy 16).

Last year Langley downed Kamloops, 3-1 for the Provincial Tier 4 banner.

2015 Final 4 Results:

Tier 4
North Vancouver BA4-T4            2 Whistler BA1-T4  10 2/27 Cam Neely 19:00
Langley BA4-T4  4 Ridge Meadows BA4-T4  2 2/27 Cam Neely 21:00
Langley BA4-T4  4 North Vancouver BA4-T4  2 28-Feb Cam Neely 15:15
Whistler BA1-T4  11 Ridge Meadows BA4-T4  2 28-Feb Cam Neely 17:15
Ridge Meadows BA4-T4                3 North Vancouver BA4-T4  1 1-Mar Cam Neely 14:45
Whistler BA1-T4  5 Langley BA4-T4  1 1-Mar Cam Neely 16:45