WHL and CSSHL extend partnership agreement

in Other News


October 12, 2016

CALGARY, AB – The Western Hockey League (WHL) and Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) today announced that the two leagues have entered into a partnership agreement encompassing the 2016-17, 2017-18 and 2018-19 hockey seasons.

“The CSSHL has become an important part of the player development system in Western Canada and the WHL is please to extend our commitment as an Official Partner of the League over the next three seasons,” commented WHL Commissioner Ron Robison.

“This season alone, 90 WHL prospects are continuing their development in the CSSHL and the WHL is pleased to continue supporting these players as they pursue their hockey and academic goals.”

The WHL will be recognized as an official partner of the CSSHL, as well as a presenting sponsor and awards supplier for the CSSHL Championships.

“The CSSHL is very pleased to partner with the WHL in this three year agreement,” said CSSHL chairperson Andy Oakes.

“The WHL is the premier development ground for young hockey players in Western Canada and Western United States and we are excited to be working with them. This agreement will open doors between both leagues that ultimately will create opportunities for the players in the CSSHL. As we strive to be the leaders in education based hockey in the country this is another step moving the league forward in a positive manner.”

A total of 90 former CSSHL student athletes were on WHL opening weekend rosters, while over 80 WHL draft picks are currently competing in the CSSHL.

Forty-two CSSHL student athletes were selected at the 2016 WHL Bantam Draft, including five in the first round.


About the WHL

Founded with just seven teams in 1966, the WHL now consists of 22 member clubs with 17 based in the four Western Canadian provinces and five in the states of Washington and Oregon.


About the CSSHL

The Canadian Sport School Hockey League (CSSHL) was established in 2009 and has grown to feature 19 sport schools and 60 teams across all four Western Canadian provinces as well as the state of Idaho.